Careful or frivolous? Which one are you?

How careful are WE to be with our financial decisions?

Proverbs 31:27 She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.

The Bible tells the wife to look well to the ways of her household. And since we make a myriad of financial decisions to run our home on a weekly basis, I believe this verse calls wives to ‘look well’ into the way we manage our money and possessions. These financial decisions include purchasing, conserving, saving, consuming, investing, and managing. As a side note, I can’t even imagine the number of thoughts that go through our minds each week for each area of our finances. I would think somewhere mid-week our brains would expire!

My point: I often thought that it was okay to leave some things up to my husband. But as I reflect on this passage, I feel that I need to revamp my thinking in some areas.

I am not asking you to be a perfect steward. I just wanted you to see that the Bible does have something to say about the wife and finances. We will pick up again tomorrow and look at the Proverbs 31 woman and see how she makes her financial decisions.

See you tomorrow!

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

